J-Bay Open

J-Bay Open: Stay Where the Athletes Compete in South Africa

Sunrise at J-Bay on the final day of of the contest. Jeffreys Bay, South Africa, also known as J-Bay. - WSL / Kelly Cestari

As the world's top surfers converge in South Africa for the J-Bay Open, the sixth stop on the World Surf League's Championship Tour, the WSL is making it possible for a traveler and guest to stay at a beautiful Airbnb on the shores of the Indian Ocean. Located inside the athlete area of the competition, this idyllic Airbnb offers the best seats in the house for watching the top male surfers battle it out on one of the world's most iconic surf breaks.

Last month, the WSL introduced Swell Dwellings, the ultimate way for surfers, surf fans and adventurers to book their accommodations anywhere in the world. Developed in partnership with Airbnb, Swell Dwellings makes it simple for travelers to book their​ accommodations at some of the best, most sought­-after wave destinations on the planet.

African Perfection room Guests can stay with a view of the waves, for just $10 USD. - WSL

"We were thrilled with the response when we launched Swell Dwellings with a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to stay on a private island in Fiji," said Mark Noonan, Global Chief Commercial Officer of the WSL. "Along with this opportunity in J-Bay, we look forward to bringing more unique, surf-centric experiences to our fans as the Tour continues into Europe and Hawaii."

This beautiful Airbnb -- available for only $10 -- is located directly above the WSL athletes' lounge, where they prepare to hit the water prior to their heats. The room includes a private bath and patio which offers sweeping views of the world-famous Supertubes surf break.

African Perfection  airbnb The board room at African Perfection. - WSL / Photographer: Malcolm Logan

The opportunity to book this incredible adventure will open on the first day of the competition window, Wednesday, July 6 at:

3 am Los Angeles, USA
6 am New York, USA
7 am Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
11 am Lisbon, Portugal
12 noon Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
8 pm Sydney, Australia

African Perfection ground floor A garden with a view. - WSL

Through the Swell Dwellings web site, travelers can browse thousands of homes and rooms that range from humble surf cottages to the most luxurious waterfront properties, with hosts that offer neighborhood insights and tips so you can feel like a local. First-time guests of Airbnb will receive a $20 coupon to use toward their first reservation upon booking through Swell Dwellings. In addition to booking a surf vacation, people interested in becoming an Airbnb host can do so right on the Swell Dwellings web site.

The J-Bay Open waiting period runs from July 6 - 17 local time. Watch live on the WSL app, website and Apple TV.