Billabong Rio Pro

Billabong Rio Pro Men's Event Guide

Official Event Site
May 7 – 18, 2014
Barra da Tijuca: Rio de Janerio, Brazil
PRIZE MONEY: $500,000
COORDINATES: 22°54′30″S 43°11′47″W
BAGGAGE CLAIM: Rio de Janeiro International, Rio de Janeiro (GIG)

TRANSPORTATION: Pack a talisman if you're planning on renting a car, because the highways here are terrifying. If the thoughts of driving through one of the world's most hectic cities sounds daunting it's easy to taxi to your destination.

ATTITUDE: The Brazilians are rabid surfing fanatics, so prepare to be worshipped. Everyone from Capoeira instructors to frothing junior champions prowl the line-ups in search of waves, and the punchy beachbreaks that line the region play host to a proud surfing community that is as passionate about the sport as it is its homeland.

THE WAVE: The 2014 Billabong Pro Rio boasts three locations. The primary event site is the rippable beachbreak of Barra da Tijuca while the backup sites include a lefthand point by the name of Praia da Arpoador. If the winds at those two breaks aren't cooperating, a sheltered, third wave named Canto do Recreio will also be an option.

PERKS: Fun waves, incredible food, breathtaking landscapes and beautiful people. Need we say more?

PERILS: Too much fun in Rio can easily equate to a lack of water time. The parties don't kick off until late in the evening and the signature Caipirinha cocktail can lead to both wild nights and crushing hangovers.

APRES SURF: The Billabong Rio Pro is just a short drive from the iconic Cristo Redentor Statue, which sits atop Corcovado mountain. Stunning 360-degree views of Rio and the Sugarloaf make this a must see.

ASP WORLD TOUR HISTORY: Brazil has played host to many an ASP tour event over the past 30-plus years. Former contest sites have included Barra de Tijuca, Saquarema, and Imbituba and now the event will return back to the adored city of Rio de Janeiro for the fourth consecutive season.

NOTABLE: Falling towards the end of the tour in past years, several ASP world champions have been crowned in Brazil. In 2004 it was Andy Irons, Kelly Slater stitched up his 2005 and 2006 ASP World Titles there and in 2007 mighty Mick Fanning claimed his first ASP World Title in Brazil as well, bringing the coveted cup back to the Aussies for the first time since Occy did it back in '99. But due to a favorable season for swell, Brazil's waiting period has shifted to early May, making it the fourth stop on this year's ASP Dream Tour.

2013: Jordy Smith (ZAF)
2012: John John Florence (HAW)
2011: Adriano de Souza (BRA)
2010: Jadson Andre (BRA)
2009: Kelly Slater (USA)
2008: Bede Durbidge (AUS)
2007: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2006: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2005: Damien Hobgood (USA)
2004: Taj Burrow (AUS)
2003: Kelly Slater (USA)

World Surf League
Official App
Free – Google Play
Get it