Top Contenders Talk Rio Pro

BARRA DA TIJUCA, Rio de Janeiro/Brazil (Tuesday, May 6, 2014) – The world's best surfers have converged from around the globe to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil to contest for the ASP World Title at the Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women's Pro presented by Billabong. A selection of ASP World Tour standouts gathered today for a press conference in advance of the start of competition.

In attendance were current ASP WCT No. 1 Gabriel Medina (BRA), reigning three-time ASP World Champion Mick Fanning (AUS), defending event winner Jordy Smith (ZAF), and current ASP WCT No. 2 and Billabong surfer Joel Parkinson (AUS). Reigning two-time ASP Women's World Champion and Women's WCT No. 1 Carissa Moore (HAW), five-time ASP Women's World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 2 Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), and 2014 ASP WCT rookie Alessa Quizon (HAW) represented the female competitors.

Kai Otton (AUS) has officially withdrawn from competition and alternate Glenn Hall (IRL) will surf in his place. Billabong Rio Pro wildcards include national standouts Peterson Crisanto (BRA) and David do Carmo (BRA).

Courtney Conlogue (USA) will also be absent from competition due to an ankle injury sustained at Bells Beach and up-and-comer Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) will make her ASP WCT debut as first alternate (story). Past ASP WCT campaigner Silvana Lima (BRA) will also compete as a wildcard (story).

Billabong Rio Pro Round 1 Match-Ups: Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Sebastian Zeitz (HAW), Tiago Pires (PRT) Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA) Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA) Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Glenn Hall (IRL) Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Mitch Crews (AUS), Peterson Crisanto (BRA) Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), David do Carmo (BRA) Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dion Atkinson (AUS) Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Travis Logie (ZAF) Heat 9: Julian Wilson (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP) Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA) Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA) Heat 12: John John Florence (HAW), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Rio Women's Pro Round 1 Match-Ups: Heat 1: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Coco Ho (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS) Heat 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Dimity Stoyle (AUS), Johanne Defay (FRA) Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Paige Hareb (NZL), Silvana Lima (BRA) Heat 4: Tyler Wright (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) Heat 5: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Alana Blanchard (HAW) Heat 6: Lakey Peterson (USA), Malia Manuel (HAW), Aless Quizon (HAW)

Stop No. 4 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Rio Pro and Women's Pro Rio presented by Billabong will be held from Wednesday, May 7, to Sunday, May 18, 2014 and will be webcast LIVE via

World Surf League
Official App
Free – Google Play
Get it