NewsMr Price Pro BallitoTim Reyes

The Situation Room: QS Movers and Shakers

At the halfway mark of the 2014 World Championship Tour (WCT) season, the Mr Price Pro Prime for the men and the 6 Star Los Cabos Open of Surf for the women have seen a few surfers cement their positions in the running for 2015 WCT qualification.

On the Men's WCT, the current Top 10 seem safe to stay on for next year. After that, though, it's anyone's game. From Travis Logie in 24th downwards, none of the remaining surfers can afford any more 25th or 13th results.

Following the Mr Price Pro, which ran June 30 - July 6 in South Africa and saw Timmy Reyes take the win, we have seen some changes. Timmy flew up 126 places to fifth in the rankings; Jadson Andre went up nine places to eighth; and Filipe Toledo went up 11 places to 10th. Matt Wilkinson's second place result moved him up 97 places into 11th, while Tiago Pires and Adam Melling also had dramatic jumps.

Unfortunately, someone had to make room for these newcomers into the QS Top 10; these were Pat Gudauskas and Dion Atkinson.

1 - Adriano de Souza (BRA) 10789
2 - Matt Banting (AUS) 9760
3 - Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 9705
4 - Billy Stairmand (NZL) 8030
5 - Tim Reyes (USA) 7110
6 - Keanu Asing (HAW) 7036
7 - Tomas Hermes (BRA) 6878
8 - Jadson Andre (BRA) 6640
9 - Charles Martin (GL) 6416
10 - Filipe Toledo (BRA) 6380

Adriano de De Souza is still sitting on top but has pretty much secured a spot in the WCT, and Matt Wilkinson rounds out the Top 10. Filipe Toledo, who's sitting in 16th on the WCT, is also a good chance, which would allow Pat Gudauskas back into the QS Top 10.

This week's WCT event at J-Bay should see more surfers solidifying their Top 22 WCT spots.

In the women's WCT after Fiji, it looks like the Top 6 have jumped way ahead of the rest of the pack, leaving the last 10 to fight over four spots during the rest of this year's events.

Following the Los Cabos Open of Surf on the QS, Silvana Lima still leads the rankings with Laura Enever and Alessa Quizon close behind. These three should be safe to make the Top 6. Sage Erickson and Nage Melamed are close but not yet assured a Top 6 berth, while Dimity Stoyle is the only double up WCT/QS at the moment, and not safe on either assuming Malia Manuel can hold onto her top five WCT rank.

1 - Silvana Lima (BRA) 7692
2 - Laura Enever (AUS) 6930
3 - Alessa Quizon (HAW) 6840
4 - Malia Manuel (HAW) 5580
5 - Sage Erickson (USA) 5190
6 - Nage Melamed (HAW) 4960

Updates to the situation room will happen when noteworthy ranking changes occur.

Regards, Al Hunt ASP Tour Manager

Note: The Men's ASP WCT for 2015 will be comprised of the Top 22 on the WCT rankings, Top 10 on the QS and two wildcards. Women's 2015 WCT qualifiers include Top 10 from the WCT, Top 6 from the QS and one wildcard.

If the season ended today, the 2015 ASP WCT rosters would look as follows:
Men's WCT:
1 - Gabriel Medina (BRA)
2 - Michel Bourez (PYF)
3 - Kelly Slater (USA)
4 - Taj Burrow (AUS)
5 - Joel Parkinson (AUS)
6 - Adriano de Souza (BRA)
7 - Nat Young (USA)
8 - Mick Fanning (AUS)
9 - Kolohe Andino (USA)
10 - Josh Kerr (AUS)
11 - Jordy Smith (ZAF)
12 - John John Florence (HAW)
13 - Bede Durbidge (AUS)
14 - Julian Wilson (AUS)
15 - Owen Wright (AUS)
16 - Filipe Toledo (BRA)
17 - Miguel Pupo (BRA)
18 - Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
19 - Fred Patacchia (HAW)
20 - C.J. Hobgood (USA)
22 - Adam Melling (AUS)
22 - Mitch Crews (AUS)(tie)
23 - Matt Banting (AUS)(tie)
24 - Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)
25 - Billy Stairmand (NZL)
26 - Tim Reyes (USA)
27 - Keanu Asing (HAW)
28 - Tomas Hermes (BRA)
29 - Jadson Andre (BRA)
30 - Charles Martin (GLP)
31 - Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
32 - Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
33 - wildcard
34 - wildcard

Women's WCT:
1 - Carissa Moore (HAW)
2 - Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
3 - Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
4 - Tyler Wright (AUS)
5 - Malia Manuel (HAW)
6 - Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)
7 - Lakey Peterson (USA)
8 - Dimity Stoyle (AUS)
9 - Laura Enever (AUS)
10 - Courtney Conlogue (USA)(tie)
10 - Coco Ho (HAW)
12 - Silvana Lima (BRA)
13 - Alessa Quizon (HAW)
13 - Sage Erickson (USA)
14 - Nage Melamed (HAW)
15 - Maud Le Car (FRA)
16 - Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)

Al Hunt Bio:
Al Hunt is a former competitor and Australian icon who has helped raise the ASP since its inception. Hunt controlled the Head Judge role in the ASP's first year of 1983 and assumed the role of Tour Manager the following season of 1984.

Hunt has worked for the ASP in the Tour Manager role since that time, attending well over 1,000 events and contributes an unmatched wealth of professional surfing knowledge and history to the team. Hunt's Situation Room is designed to keep fans informed on rankings' shifts throughout the 2014 ASP Qualification Series season.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.