NewsBillabong Junior Series presented by BOS

Cape Town to Host Second Billabong Junior Series Event

The Billabong Junior Series presented by BOS will be holding its second event in the 2014 Junior Series in Cape Town with a waiting period of August 8 - 10. This event is part of a three-part series and is the 50th Billabong Junior Series contest to be held in South Africa.

Billabong ASP World Junior Championships, North Narrabeen, Sydney 2011 Dale Staples competing in the 2011 Billabong Pro Series event in Sydney, Australia. WSL / Kirstin Scholtz

The Billabong Junior Series presented by BOS is the longest-running and most-prestigious junior surfing series in the country and has spawned such champions as Jordy Smith, Dale Staples, Beyrick De Vries and Michael February. Billabong has paid out over R1M in prize money in the series to date, which also makes it the richest junior series in the country.

"We have always believed that if we offer the junior surfers the best competitive experiences at our events, that they will benefit from it and rise to the top," said Billabong South Africa Marketing Manager Chad D'Arcy. "The events are run under ASP guidelines and offer these surfers a glimpse of what life would be like as a professional surfer. We are proud of our history in developing our junior surfers over the years, and are very proud that we have reached the milestone of 50 events in the junior series over the years."

Matt McGillivray Took To The Skies In His Early Morning Heat Today Matt McGillivray at the first Billabong event of this year in Mossel Bay. WSL / Kody McGregor

The current divisions for Cape Town include the U12 Boys (1A PST rated), the U14 Boys and U14 Girls (2A PST rated), U16 Boys and U16 Girls (2A PST rated), and the U20 Boys and U20 Girls (1-Star ASP Pro Junior rated). This year, contest organizers have decided that there will be no U18 division and will allow all U18's to enter the U20 Pro Junior division instead. Surfers from the U16 division are invited to enter the Pro Junior division as well.

The first two events of the Billabong Junior Series will also be used exclusively as selection for the ASP World Juniors Champs (WCJ), with three regional male surfers and one regional women surfer to be selected for the WJC at the end of October in Portugal. Dylan Lightfoot and Emma Smith won the first Billabong event in April.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.