- WSL / Kelly Cestari
- WSL / Kelly Cestari

With a series of storms brewing in the North Pacific, swell conditions are looking ideal going into the Beachwaver Maui Pro, the last stop on the 2018 WSL Women's Championship Tour. The event is held at Honolua Bay, Maui with a window of Nov 25 - Dec 6.

Preview: Beachwaver Maui Pro
The WSL desk crew breaks down the epic conditions forecasted for the final stop of the 2018 women's Title Race.

Last year's defending champion, Australian Stephanie Gilmore, will be battling against Santa Barbara native Lakey Peterson. Gilmore and Peterson are the only two surfers mathematically in contention to win the 2018 World Title. Gilmore will be looking to win her 5th Maui Pro and clinch her 7th World Title, tying her with surfing legend and fellow Australian Layne Beachley for World Title wins.

Lakey Peterson (USA) advances to the Quarterfinals of the 2018 Corona Bali Protected after winning Heat 3 of Round 3 at Keramas, Bali, Indonesia. Lakey Peterson will be looking to win her first World Championship Title. - WSL / Kelly Cestari

Peterson, however, will be eyeing her first World Title win. With her current overall score this season, a win at Maui would push the event into a Surf Off between her and Gilmore. The format of the Surf Off will be determined by the WSL Commissioner's office.

Historically, Australia has absolutely dominated this event (12x wins), trailed by Hawaii (2x wins) and Brazil (1 win). If Peterson wins, she will be the first mainland American to take the event.

Pacifico announcement Honolua Bay - WSL

Honolua Bay is a perfect, peeling right-hand point break on the northwest corner of Maui. Four-time World Champion Mark Richards once referd to Honolua as, "The ultimate wave, the best wave in the world."

Honolua Bay is angled perfectly to absorb swell from winter storms in the North Pacific. When the wave is working on a good north swell with easterly wind, it can serve up a series of barrel and turn sections for the better part of a quarter mile.

Honolua was the site of the Billabong Pro women's world tour event from 1999-2009 as well as second-tier men's division pro surfing contests since the 1980's.

Past Maui Pro Winners

2017 Stephanie Gilmore | AUS
2016 Tyler Wright | AUS
2015 Carissa Moore | HAW
2014 Carissa Moore | HAW
2009 Stephanie Gilmore | AUS
2008 Stephanie Gilmore | AUS
2007 Stephanie Gilmore | AUS
2006 Jessi Miley-Dyer | AUS
2005 Chelsea Georgeson | AUS
2004 Chelsea Georgeson| AUS
2003 Samantha Cornish | AUS
2002 Jaqueline Silva | BRA
2001 Neridah Falconer | AUS
2000 Neridah Falconer | AUS
1999 Trudy Todd | AUS

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.