The inaugural ASP Qualifying Series (QS) event held in Maresias occurred in 1993 and was won by the Brazilian surfer Renan Rocha before Gabriel Medina (BRA) was even born.

Following that event, contests only returned to Maresias for QS events in 1999 and in 2000 and were won by Peterson Rosa (BRA) and Crhistiano Spirro (BRA) respectively. The next ASP events in Maresias were held in 5-year intervals.

In 2005, Pedro Henrique (BRA) won the event and in 2010, Caetano Vargas (BRA) claimed the title at the SuperSurf International competition. Now, approximately 5 years later, it is the first time Maresias will host an event with a Prime status for the O'Neill SP Prime.

A total of U$250,000 in prize money will be distributed to the 96 competitors; all of which will receive a portion for participating in the event.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.