WatchBillabong Pro TahitiJeremy Flores

What Does a Perfect 20 Look Like in Tahiti?

Kelly Slater (USA) and Jeremy Flores (FRA) have each made history at the Billabong Pro Tahiti, with a perfect score of 20 in a single heat.

Unsurprisingly, Slater did it first: In the 2005 Final against Floridian Damien Hobgood, Slater became the first surfer in WSL history to score a perfect 20 after the two-wave total replaced the three-wave system.

Flores followed suit in 2011, when he scored two 10-point rides during his Quarterfinal heat against local charger Michel Bourez (PYF).

"I've never gotten a 10 in my whole career," Flores reportedly said afterward. "And now I've got two in the same heat."

While Flores' ability to compete in the 2015 contest is still to be determined, you can catch Slater and the rest of the Top 34 taking on Teahupo'o LIVE here daily starting Friday, August 14 local time.

Watch more with these videos of Tahiti's 10s

Up Next

More Videos

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.