NewsNazaré ChallengeLucas Chianca

The Road to Nazaré

Forget the niceties of first-class travel with its fold-out beds, sleeping pods and champagne upon arrival. For surfers heading to Saturday's Nazaré Challenge, it looks a little more like this.

Carlos Burlé and Lucas Chianca are two of the 24 competitors who found out just days ago that the contest would run. Wednesday, they packed their bags in Hawaii and flew to New York, then to Lisbon, drove to Nazaré and, finally, landed at their warehouse at the harbor. By the time they paddle out Saturday, however, the journey will be long forgotten, and taking on world-class waves will be front and center. Look for them live, starting at 8 a.m. local time (12 am PST, 6 am BRST, 8 am GMT, 7 pm AEDT).

World Surf League
Official App
Free – Google Play
Get it