O'Neill is pleased to announce the field of competitors for the 2015 O'Neill Coldwater Classic. The World Surf League (WSL) Men's Qualifying Series (QS) hits Santa Cruz for three consecutive days of competition during a holding period of October 14-18. This year's event boasts a $50,000 prize purse and 1,500 points up for grabs amongst 96 surfers hoping to qualify for the 2016 World Tour.

Reigning Coldwater Classic Champion and current WSL QS #16 Nate Yeomans (San Clemente) enters this year's contest as the top seed. Yeomans also won the event back in 2009 when it was an ASP 6-Star PRIME.

Other notable QS athletes include: Tim Reyes (Huntington Beach), Cory Arrambide (Ventura), Kaito Kino (Honolulu), Manuel Selman (DOM), Kilian Garland (Santa Barbara) and Dylan Goodale (Hanalei).

Santa Cruz area entrants include: Nic Hdez, Shaun Burns, Anthony Ruffo, Randy Bonds, Ben Coffey, Richie Schmidt, Jason "Rat Boy" Collins, Eric Totah and Brogie Panesi.

A local trials event will commence on the first morning of competition offering one winner a wildcard spot into the main competition. Eight local athletes have been invited to compete: Bud Freitas, Jesse Columbo and Adam Replogle from the Eastside; Chad Underhill, Miles Clanton and Joey Hudson from the Westside; and Jimmy Herrick and Wilem Banks from Midtown and/or Unincorporated Santa Cruz area.

Since its inception in 1987, the O'Neill Coldwater Classic has been center stage for some of the world's best surfing talent. The cold, rugged conditions, arena-like setting and local pride surrounding the famed Steamer Lane break has become legendary. Previous winners include Santa Cruz locals Kieran Horn, Adam Replogle, Peter Mel and Nat Young, legends like Martin Potter and Tom Curren, and current World Tour standouts Joel Parkinson, Jordy Smith, Matt Wilkinson and Miguel Pupo.

Learn more and follow all of the action including a live webcast at us.oneill.com/cwc #oneillcwc.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.