- WSL / Thurtell
- WSL / Thurtell

The fourth and final event in the 2017 Billabong Junior Series pres. by All Aboard Travel runs in the fabled waves of Seal Point in Cape St Francis this weekend with the results determining the series champions in all divisions.

Surfers in the JQS1,000 men's and women's events will also be competing for the WSL Africa junior titles the selection of the regional squad for the 2018 World Junior Championship in Australia in January

The Billabong Junior Series is the world's longest running series of surfing events for surfers aged 18-and-under and has nurtured the competitive careers of countless South African surfers including current World No. 1 Jordy Smith, former WSL Women's No. 4 Bianca Buitendag and Championship Tour campaigners Travis Logie, Royden Bryson, Ricky Basnett, Rosy Hodge and Nikita Robb as well as current QS standouts Beyrick De Vries, Michael February and many more

"We are excited to be crowning the 20th annual Billabong Junior Series champions at Seal point this weekend," said Billabong Marketing Manager Chad D'Arcy. "It's great to be a junior surfer in South Africa at the moment, and Billabong is proud of our junior surfing legacy."

Jake Elkington (Kommetjie) holds a substantial rankings lead on both Billabong and WSL Africa rankings after a stellar year in which he has reached the final in five events, winning three of them. In the absence of many of the top contenders who are in Japan representing South Africa at the ISA world junior championships, Elkington has already clinched both the men's crowns but will be going flat out to secure another event win to add further lustre to his 2017 achievements.

While the missing Adin Masencamp (Strand) and Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) have nailed down the runner-up and third place spots in the 2017 WSL Africa rankings, fourth placed Max Elkington (Kommetjie) will be anxiously watching from Japan to see whether current No. 6 Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) can win the Seal Point event and snatch the younger Elkington's place in the squad for Australia.

Similarly in the Billabong Junior Series pres. by All Aboard Travel, Max Elkington's current runner-up spot is under pressure from fellow Kommetjie surfer Ford Van Jaarsveldt and Angelo Faulkner, both of whom will need to win this weekend's event to move into second place on the yearend rankings list.

With the top three Junior Women - Sophie Bell (Salt Rock), Kayla Nogueira (uMhlanga) and Kirsty McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay) - all in Japan, there are plenty of opportunities for the likes of Summer Sutton (Kommetjie), Tayla De Coning (East London), Taghiti Gericke (Wilderness) and Natasha Van Greunen (Muizenberg) to clinch their first series title and climb both sets of rankings

The Billabong Junior Series pres. by All Aboard Travel runs from Friday to Sunday, September 29 - 1 October with World Surf League (WSL) Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) 1,000 rated events for U18 men and women, alongside 3A rated Surfing South Africa (SSA) SA Surf Tour (SAST) events for U16 and U14 boys and girls and U12 boys.

The Billabong Junior Series pres. by All Aboard Travel is supported by BOS, VonZipper, Zigzag, Surfing South Africa and World Surf League Africa.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.