The 2018 WSL Championship Tour season is just about to kick off on the Gold Coast of Australia. But first, Thursday night it was time to honor some of the best performances, most exhilarating moments and exciting achievements in pro surfing last season.

See all the nominees here.

Women's Wave of the Year: Stephanie Gilmore, Australia

Men's Wave of the Year: Filipe Toledo, Brazil

Women's Move of the Year: Carissa Moore, Hawaii

Men's Move of the Year: John John Florence, Hawaii

Women's Heat of the Year: Lakey Peterson, USA vs. Carissa Moore, Hawaii

Men's Heat of the Year: Julian Wilson, Australia vs. Gabriel Medina, Brazil

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.