SÃO PAULO, Brazil (Friday, September 18, 2020) - 15 of the world's best surfers and ten of the biggest Brazilian personalities came together for Onda do Bem, a one-night charitable surf contest as part of The WSL Countdown.

The participants were divided into five color-themed teams named after stops on the Championship Tour: Rio, Gold Coast, J-Bay, Teahupo'o, and Pipe. Each team took part in a variety of challenges throughout the night, including Big Air, Pro and Celebrity Heats, and a Team Challenge.

Silvana Lima Wins Pro Women's Event At Onda do Bem
The CT veteran takes out the Pro Women's Event at the third event of the WSL Countdown Series.

Team Rio, made up of Yago Dora, Adriano de Souza, Julia Duarte, Paulo Vilhena, and Danni Suzuki, won the Oi Fibra Team Challenge after showcasing style and flair throughout their heats. Earlier this week De Souza announced he will be retiring from professional surfing after the 2021 Championship Tour season.

Reigning WSL Champion Italo Ferreira won the Pro Men's and Super Airs heats. Olympic qualifier Silvana Lima won the Women's Pro heat. 

"I only compete to get trophies," said Ferreira. "Everyone did a great job today, and I'm super proud of Jadson, Yago and Miguel. They inspire me."

"I've never surfed in the dark before," said Lima. "It was very challenging but I couldn't be happier with my results."

All The Airs: Onda do Bem
Watch as the Brazilian Storm Airs It Out at Onda do Bem!

Actor and model Paulo Zulu and surfer and TV host Érica Prado won the Celebrity Heats.

"This was very difficult because we could barely see the sets coming," said the captain of the winning team, Yago Dora. "I was focused, relaxed, and spent this time off accentuating my skills and perfecting my abilities."

Onda do Bem raises money for charity, Projeto Ondas
By using a QR Code embedded on the broadcast, viewers were able to make donations to Projeto Ondas, which was founded in 2007 by former CT athlete and two-time Brazilian surfing champion Jojó de Olivença. Their mission is to contribute to the integral development of children and adolescents in situations of socioeconomic vulnerability by using surfing as an instrument for learning and social inclusion.

Onda do Bem Results:
Celebrity Women's Heat: Winner Erica Prado
Celebrity Men's Heat: Winner Paulo Zulu
Super Airs Heat: Winner Italo Ferreira
Oi Fibra Team Challenge: Winner Team Rio - Yago Dora, Adriano de Souza, Julia Duarte, Paulo Vilhena and Danni Suzuki
Pro Women's Heat: Winner Silvana Lima
Pro Men's Heat: Winner Italo Ferreira

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.