- WSL / Kelly Cestari

Official Event Sites: Men's | Women's
EVENT WINDOW: October 6-17, 2015
LOCATION: Landes, South West, France
COORDINATES: 44° N, 0.83° W
BAGGAGE CLAIM: Biarritz Airport (BIQ)

Flawless surf for the final.  ASP/ Kirstin Flawless barrels off the coast of France. - WSL / Kirstin Scholtz

WHY FRANCE: Most of the events on the Dream Tour so far have been in classic "island paradise" locales. So what should you expect from the Tour at the sandbars of South West France? The break at Landes is literally picture perfect. Hollywood screenwriter Peter Viertel put the Gascogne (now known as Aquitaine) coast on the map when was filming The Sun Also Rises in 1956. A few years later, Nat Young (AUS) filmed Evolution and Waves of Change, a documentary capturing the green, glassy barrels he discovered at the Bay of Biscay. When guys like Tom Curren (USA) and Gary Elkerton (AUS) set down roots there -- Curren in Anglet, Elkerton in Lacanau -- it was further established as a choice spot.

THE WAVE: Pounding beachbreak. The main contest break in Hossegor has been known to toss up a 10-to-12-foot face or two when autumn swells arrive. Low-pressure systems start forming up in the North Atlantic and send lines of waves marching straight into French shores. Hossegor has massive tidal swings and offers up some thundering barrels for the world's best to enjoy. But in September the water starts to chill so break out a 3/2mm fullsuit and a 6'8" pintail for the powerful waves.

Mick Fanning (AUS) defeated Joel Parkinson in the Semi Finals to set a Fanning VS Medina Final.   ASP / Cestari Mick Fanning earned his fourth Quiksilver Pro France title in 2013, making him the most decorated surfer in the event's 13-year history. - WSL / Kelly Cestari

ATTITUDE: Localism and overcrowding go hand-in-hand. But the French, in spite of their Hollywood reputation for being snooty, have nothing but respect and open arms for international surfers. Just do yourself a favor and learn a French phrase or two -- once you butcher it they'll be much more likely to oblige with English of their own.

PRO SURFING'S ARRIVAL: Quiksilver was granted a license for an elite Tour contest in 2001 and the rest is history. Hossegor has wailed during the autumn waiting period annually since its inception, allowing the world's finest competitors to take advantage of the juicy beachbreaks that France is renowned for the world over. Standout French pros include Mikael Picon, Didier Piter and current Championship Tour (CT) surfer Jeremy Flores.

On the women's elite Tour, French CT rep Johanne Defay will carry the torch for the locals but she has her work cut out for her. Australians have dominated since the first women's CT event in Hossegor in 1992 (excluding three seasons when it didn't run), winning all but two champs coming from Oz.

Gabriel Medina (BRA) claimed his inaugural World Title tour victory at the Quiksilver Pro France today.  ASP/ Kirstin Cloaked in his country's flag, Medina put the world on notice when he won his first CT event in France during his rookie season. - WSL / Kirstin Scholtz

CHAMPIONSHIP TOUR HISTORY: At the 2004 event, the Irons brothers met in their first-ever Final against each other. Andy Irons (HAW) took down Bruce that year and claimed his second of three consecutive wins at the event. France played host to Gabriel Medina's breakout CT performance. The Brazilian turned heads when he won the contest in 2011, just his second event as an elite Tour surfer. Three-time World Champion Mick Fanning (AUS) notched an unprecedented fourth victory in 2013, making him the most decorated surfer of the event's history.

Carissa Moore (HAW) solidified her maiden World Title at the event in France in 2011. This year Courtney Conlogue (USA) has the same opportunity. And while Layne Beachley (AUS) has won the most contests in Hossegor, Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) is the only one to win three in a row.

2014: John John Florence (HAW)
2013: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2012: Kelly Slater (USA)
2011: Gabriel Medina (BRA)
2010: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2009: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2008: Adrian Buchan (AUS)
2007: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2006: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2005: Andy Irons (HAW)
2004: Andy Irons (HAW)
2003: Andy Irons (HAW)
2002: Neco Padaratz (BRA)
2000: C.J. Hobgood (USA)
1999: Michael Lowe (AUS)
1998: Damien Hardman (AUS)
1997: Rob Machado (USA)
1996: Kelly Slater (USA)
1995: Rob Machado (USA)
1994: Flavio Padaratz (BRA)
1993: Damien Hardman (AUS)
1992: Kelly Slater (USA)

Tyler Wright winning the Roxy Pro France. Tyler Wright is the defending champion of the Roxy Pro France. - WSL / Kirstin

2014: Tyler Wright (AUS)
2013: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
2012: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2011: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2008: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2006: Chelsea Georgeson (AUS)
2005: Chelsea Goergeson (AUS)
2004: Sofia Mulanovich (PER)
2003: Chelsea Georgeson (AUS)
2002: Layne Beachley (AUS)
2000: Layne Beachley (AUS)
1999: Rochelle Ballard (USA)
1998: Layne Beachley (AUS)
1997: Neridah Falconer (AUS)
1996: Serena Brooke (AUS)
1995: Layne Beachley (AUS)
1994: Lynette MacKenzie (AUS)
1993: Kylie Webb (AUS)
1992: Wendy Botha (ZAF)

Watch the Quiksilver Pro and Roxy Pro France LIVE on the WSL homepage and the WSL app beginning October 6 at 8 a.m. local time.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.