Light offshore conditions and a clean 3-to-4-foot swell revealed itself on Day 2 of the Billabong Junior Series final event. Diran Zakarian (ZAF) from Melkbos was the first surfer to find success, winning the first heat of the day with an explosive backhand performance in the crisp waves.

Dylan Lightfoot from Jeffreys Bay was the next surfer to step up to the plate with a dynamic performance in a loaded heat, eventually leaving the other three surfers in comb situations.

"I had a couple of good waves in my free surf beforehand, so I just tried to do the same again in my heat," said Lightfoot. "I sat in the same place and tried to find the same waves. You can see which waves are going to be the good ones. You can see the waves that are going to grow a bit down the point, and those are the ones that you want to catch."

The U16 Boys division saw a major upset, with Alex van Rijswick eliminating top-rated Jordan Maree and Ford van Jaarsveldt in the opening heat. With Maree out of the picture, the U16 Boys division race opened up for Jake Elkington, who needed to advance from the next heat to be in the run for the division title. He went on to win the heat, and keep the U16 division race open.

The U14 Boys saw Max Elkington from Hout Bay put on an excellent performance on his backhand to claim the first Quarterfinal over Saxton Randall from Durban in second, Joe Webster from Kommetjie in third, and Jared Hook from Riverside in fourth.

In the U20 Pro Junior Quarterfinals it was Adin Masencamp, Steven Sawyer, Josh Smit and Matt McGillivray who stood out in the deteriorating onshore conditions, with some fast and explosive surfing and big moves getting them into the Semifinals along with Lightfoot, Steff Burrows, Derek Horlock and Shane Sykes.

The day's surfing finished off with the U14 Girls Semifinals and the U16 Girls Semifinals in increasingly difficult conditions. Local favorite Crystal Hulett continued her charge by making the most of the tricky conditions to advance to the U16 Girls Final. She'll face off against Cana Foster, Ruth Armstrong and Taghiti Gericke.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.