- WSL / Cestari

Official Event Site
EVENT WINDOW: December 8-20, 2014
LOCATION: Banzai Pipeline, North Shore, Hawaii
COORDINATES: 21º40' N, 158º03' W
BAGGAGE CLAIM: Honolulu International Airport, Honolulu (HNL)

Pipe Lineup Pipe: High Risk, High Reward. - WSL / Karen

ATTITUDE: Pipe is the proving ground of the surf world. Surfers from hundreds of countries make pilgrimages here to test their mettle in the cavernous barrels. With a packed winter lineup, the crowded takeoff spots makes for some volatile situations. Surfers with the expertise to paddle out here come prepared to do battle -- with both the sea and fellow chargers.

THE WAVE: Guts for glory. With exploding tubes over shallow lava reef and sand, for decades Pipe has been considered the most dangerous wave on the planet. The history of the place combined with the sheer ferocity of the wave makes winning the Pipe Masters a meaningful achievement for many pros. Careers are made there, as much as boards are broken.

APRES SURF: The global surf industry descends on the seven-mile stretch of the North Shore during the annual end-of-year event. While it's called "the country" for its relatively rural environs, there's always a party to be found during the Pipe Masters.

Kai Otton Making the Drop: Pipe pitches really as water moves quickly over shallow reef, making for intense last minute drops straight into the barrel. - WSL / Kirstin

ASP WORLD TOUR HISTORY: Banzai Pipeline has played host to a number of ASP World Title showdowns and is never short on action. ASP World Tour Commissioner Kieren Perrow won his first elite ASP victory at Pipe in 2011. This year's World Title is once again a down-to-the-wire race for the ultimate prize.

PRIDE OF THE NORTH SHORE: Hawaiians are proud of the Pipe Masters and the results are in their favor. But while the island state has the greatest number of contest winners (17) the surfer with the most wins is from the mainland: Kelly Slater (USA) earned his seventh title at last year's event. There hasn't been a Hawaiian champion since Andy Irons (HAW) won in 2006.

2013: Kelly Slater (USA)
2012: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2011: Kieren Perrow (AUS)
2010: Jeremy Flores (FRA)
2009: Taj Burrow (AUS)
2008: Kelly Slater (USA)
2007: Bede Durbidge (AUS)

Andy Irons Andy Irons competing at the Pipe Masters, now dedicated to his memory. - WSL / Β© 2008 Sean Rowland

2006: Andy Irons (HAW)
2005: Andy Irons (HAW)
2004: Jamie O'Brien (HAW)
2003: Andy Irons (HAW)
2002: Andy Irons (HAW)
2001: Bruce Irons (HAW)
2000: Rob Machado (USA)
1999: Kelly Slater (USA)
1998: Jake Paterson (AUS)
1997: Johnny-Boy Gomes (HAW)
1996: Kelly Slater (USA)
1995: Kelly Slater (USA)
1994: Kelly Slater (USA)
1993: Derek Ho (HAW)
1992: Kelly Slater (USA)
1991: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1990: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1989: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
1988: Robbie Page (HAW)
1987: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1986: Derek Ho (HAW)
1985: Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
1984: Joey Buran (USA)
1983: Dane Kealoha (HAW)
1982: Michael Ho (HAW)
1981: Simon Anderson (AUS)
1980: Mark Richards (AUS)
1979: Larry Blair (AUS)
1978: Larry Blair (AUS)
1977: Rory Russell (HAW)
1976: Rory Russell (HAW)
1975: Shaun Tomson (ZAF)
1974: Jeff Crawford (USA)
1973: Gerry Lopez (HAW)
1972: Gerry Lopez (HAW)
1971: Jeff Hakman (HAW)

Jeremy Flores (FRA), 2010 Billabong Pipe Masters champion.
- WSL / Kelly Cestari
1 of 4
Jeremy Flores (FRA), 2010 Billabong Pipe Masters champion.
- WSL / Kelly Cestari
1 of 4
World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.