For more than 40 years the Gold Coast of Australia has been a bedrock of professional surfing. It's produced more World Champions than any other place on the planet, thanks to its ample supply of waves and talent that have made Coolangatta the epicenter of the Australian surf scene.

Owen Wright Wins 2017 Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast
The big man wins the Quiksilver Pro on a day filled with comeback stories. Gilmore claims Roxy Pro.

The Superbank at Snapper Rocks is the preeminent stage, supplying waves that allow surfers to showcase the highest caliber of performance surfing just yards away from thousands of cheering fans. There's no better venue to launch a World Title battle.

EVENT WINDOW: April 3-13, 2019
LOCATION: Snapper Rocks, Coolangatta, Queensland, Australia
COORDINATES: 28.1625° S, 153.5500° E
BAGGAGE CLAIM: Gold Coast Airport, Coolangatta (OOL)

The early mornign crowd during Round One. Gold Coast Event Site - WSL / Ed Sloane

THE WAVE: Snapper Rocks' custom-built sandbar offers up world-class waves. The result: Flawless righthand barrels with rippable walls and cozy water temps. The possibilities are endless and performance barriers are often shattered here. But watch who you're dropping in on. There's a good chance you could be snaking local surfers Joel Parkinson or Mick Fanning.

APRÈS-SURF: Grab a few cold ones at Rainbow Bay Surf Lifesaving Club. At night, there are plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from, but be sure to get there early -- Cooly gets quiet by 10 p.m. For a rowdier type of night, head north to Surfer's Paradise, home of clubs, casinos and more. Also check out The Drop, a touring festival that follows the Australian leg of the Championship Tour to celebrate local music and art. You can check see the schedule and buy tickets here.

2018: Julian Wilson (AUS)
2017: Owen Wright (AUS)
2016: Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
2015: Filipe Toledo (BRA)
2014: Gabriel Medina (BRA)
2013: Kelly Slater (USA)
2012: Taj Burrow (AUS)
2011: Kelly Slater (USA)
2010: Taj Burrow (AUS)
2009: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2008: Kelly Slater (USA)
2007: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2006: Kelly Slater (USA)
2005: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2004: Michael Lowe (AUS)
2003: Dean Morrison (AUS)
2002: Joel Parkinson (AUS)

Highlights From a Historic Final Day at Snapper
It was a storybook finish for Owen Wright, and a sweet return to No. 1 for Stephanie Gilmore.

2018: Lakey Peterson (USA)
2017: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2016: Tyler Wright (AUS)
2015: Carissa Moore (HAW)
2014: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2013: Tyler Wright (AUS)
2012: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2011: Carissa Moore (HAW)
2010: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2009: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2008: Sofia Mulanovich (PER)
2007: Chelsea Hedges (AUS)
2006: Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS)
2005: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2004: Jacqueline Silva (BRA)
2003: Layne Beachley (AUS)
2002: Lynette MacKenzie (AUS)

Jordy Smith of South Africa will surf Round Five after placing third in Heat 3 of Round Four at the Quik Pro Gold Coast, Australia. Jordy Smith in Round Five - WSL / Kelly Cestari
World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.