- WSL / Surfing Aust/Duffis
- WSL / Surfing Aust/Duffis

Snapper Rocks Surfriders have won the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle for the second year in a row at Cronulla.

The defending champions from Queensland were on top of the leaderboard heading into Day 2 and maintained their consistency as a series of threats fell by the wayside. Despite finishing second in the last event of the day in the relay division, Snapper had enough points to take the overall title home again.

Snapper Rocks Surfriders win back to back Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle titles Snapper celebrating in style. - WSL / Surfing Aust/Duffis

Coffs Harbour Boardriders will be celebrating long and hard after knocking over Snapper to win the teams' relay division and take second place in the overall points in their 50th year celebrations. Coffs were outstanding on the final day led by Jayke Sharp. Culburra Boardriders finished third overall despite being eliminated from the teams' relay division on Saturday.

The powerful Snapper Rocks lineup consisted of: Joel Parkinson, Mitch Crews, Mitch Parkinson, Reef Doig, Holly-Daze Coffey, Sheldon Simkus, Quinn Bruce, Jay Phillips, Wayne Bartholomew (coach) and Lorraine Bryant (coach).

“Thanks very much for another amazing event down here,” said Snapper Rocks captain Jay Phillips. “We love coming down here, we love the locals and enjoy the atmosphere with all the clubs.

“To our team, we can't really do it without all the great people and our top gun Joel Parkinson put on a great show for us to stay in the game.

“We don't bring many supporters down but we come down with pride and honor and to all our supporters at home at Snapper Rocks we love them and we're bringing it home. This is what I live for. I love club surfing.”

Run The tag-team rivalries are intense. - WSL / Surfing Aust

Parkinson said the club was extremely proud to be taking home the title back to Queensland.

“It's one thing to be Australia's best club once, but to do it twice is something to cherish forever. See you next year for three times hopefully.”

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is the country's biggest grassroots, boardriders event series with $120,000 in prize money. It involved Australia's best boardriders clubs in eight State qualifying rounds starting last October and culminating in this weekend's two-day National Final.

Each club team included one junior (under-18) surfer, four open-age surfers, and one over-35 surfer. Each team must include one female surfer. An exciting event format had teams battle it out in a women's division, five-person teams division and a men's skins competition for the overall title.

Jayke Sharp helped Coffs Harbour win the Tag-Team divisionOriginal Source Australian Boardriders Battle Jayke Sharp was the form surfer of the event, leading Coffs Harbour Boardriders to a runner-up finish. - WSL / Will H-S

North Narrabeen was expected to mount a serious challenge to Snapper, but the Sydney club was surprisingly eliminated from the first heat of the teams' relay division in the morning and finished fourth. Avoca Boardriders also remained a major threat and could have still taken the overall title had they reached the Final of the teams' relay division. But they were eliminated in the Semifinals to finish in fifth place.

A special award, the Wayne Bartholomew Medal for the best performing male surfer at the National Final, was also presented to Sharp (Coffs Harbour Boardriders). Stacey Holt (Point Lookout Boardriders) won the Layne Beachley Medal for best performing female. Each surfer also received $1000.

Nick Squiers (Scarborough Boardriders) won the Milwaukee Heavy Duty Hack Award for the surfer who displayed the biggest and best power move and won $1500 in Milwaukee equipment and $1000.

Bondi Boardriders won the Fox Sports Patriot Award and $5000 for the club that demonstrated the most passionate spirit during the National Final after bringing a robust support crew to Cronulla complete with a three-piece band.

Snapper Rocks and Coffs Harbour also won $1000 and $500 of FCS product for finishing first and second.

For full results head to www.australianboardridersbattle.com.

Joel Parkinson helped Snapper Rocks Surfriders claim back-to-back wins at the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle
- WSL / Will H-S
1 of 8
Joel Parkinson helped Snapper Rocks Surfriders claim back-to-back wins at the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle
- WSL / Will H-S
1 of 8
World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.