Press Room

Women's World Title Race Heads to Roxy Pro France

Opportunity for Stephanie Gilmore to Clinch World Title Early in France; American Lakey Peterson Only Competitor Who Can Stop Gilmore

SEIGNOSSE / HOSSEGOR / CAPBRETON, Landes, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France (Wednesday, September 26, 2018) - The holding period for Quiksilver and Roxy Pro France, Stop No. 9 of the World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), will open on Wednesday, October 3 and run through Sunday, October 14, 2018.

The stunning coastline of Landes, France will play host to the penultimate stop of the 2018 Women's CT season as two surfers remain in contention for the World Title: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) and Lakey Peterson (USA).

The World Title scenarios going into the Roxy Pro France are as follows: *- Gilmore is the only surfer who can clinch the title in France

  • If Gilmore wins the event, she takes the title
  • If Peterson wins the event the title goes to Maui
  • If Gilmore finishes 2nd (runner-up) and Peterson finishes 3rd or below, Gilmore wins the title
  • If Gilmore finished 3rd (Semifinalist) and Peterson finishes 5th or below, Gilmore below the title. If Peterson finishes 3rd or better the title goes to Maui for a potential surf off
  • If Gilmore finishes 5th or below, the title goes to Maui *

On the men's side, Filipe Toledo (BRA) continues to lead the rankings with only 4,100 points over 2014 WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA). As the defending, three-time event winner, Medina is known to push the limits at this event and a win will be crucial in his World Title campaign. Toledo has had mixed results in France but will fight for a big result to maintain his lead and get one step closer to earning a maiden World Championship.

Caio Ibelli (BRA), 11-time WSL Champion Kelly Slater (USA), and two-time WSL Champion John John Florence (HAW) have withdrawn from the Quiksilver Pro France due to the ongoing injuries. WSL Replacements Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) and Miguel Pupo (BRA) accepted their spots. The third WSL Replacement spot will go to the highest ranked surfer on the Qualifying Series after the EDP Billabong Pro Ericeira QS 10,000 event. The first wildcard will be awarded to the highest French surfer on the QS Rankings after the EDP Billabong Pro Ericeira. The remaining wildcard will be selected by Quiksilver.

Two-time WSL Champion Tyler Wright (AUS) will not be competing due to an ongoing illness and will be replaced by Pauline Ado (FRA). Silvana Lima (BRA) has withdrawn to have knee surgery and will be replaced by Macy Callaghan (AUS). Vahine Fierro (PYF), reigning World Junior Champion, has been awarded the Roxy event wildcard.

This year, the event will also feature the Red Bull Airborne, an aerial specialty event featuring 18 of the most innovative surfers in the air, both on and off the Championship Tour. Two wildcards selected via online submissions will join the star-studded field, which includes Albee Layer (HAW), Chippa Wilson (AUS), Mikey Wright (AUS), Matt Meola (HAW), Yago Dora (BRA), Filipe Toledo (BRA) and more.

The Quiksilver and Roxy Pro France and the Red Bull Airborne will be broadcast LIVE on, the WSL's Facebook page, and the WSL app. Also, check local listings for coverage from the WSL's broadcast partners.

Local fans will be able to follow the event LIVE on a big screen on the Central square in Hossegor and enjoy movie screenings and music acts in various places during the event's waiting period.

Quiksilver Pro France Round 1 Matchups:
Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Joan Duru (FRA)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS), Yago Dora (BRA), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Heat 3: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Frederico Morais (PRT), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)
Heat 4: Julian Wilson (AUS), Tomas Hermes (BRA), TBD
Heat 5: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Connor O'Leary (AUS), TBD
Heat 6: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Joel Parkinson (AUS), TBD
Heat 7: Wade Carmichael (AUS), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 8: Kolohe Andino (USA), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 9: Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Ian Gouveia (BRA)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Michael Rodrigues (BRA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Griffin Colapinto (USA), Jesse Mendes (BRA)
Heat 12: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Conner Coffin (USA), Michael February (ZAF)

Roxy Pro France Round 1 Matchups:
Heat 1: Caroline Marks (USA), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS), Bronte Macaulay (AUS)
Heat 2: Carissa Moore (HAW), Coco Ho (HAW), Paige Hareb (NZL)
Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Sage Erickson (USA), Vahine Fierro (PYF)
Heat 4: Lakey Peterson (USA), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Pauline Ado (FRA)
Heat 5: Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA), Malia Manuel (HAW), Macy Callaghan (AUS)
Heat 6: Johanne Defay (FRA), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Keely Andrew (AUS)

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.