- WSL / Daniel Smorigo
- WSL / Daniel Smorigo

The World Surf League (WSL) has announced the shift of the primary venue for the 2017 Rio Pro from Postinho Beach, Rio, to Ita├║na Beach, Saquarema.

Tyler Wright of Australia winning the Oi Rio Pro. Tyler Wright won the Oi Rio Women's Pro this year at Postinho, on her way to a World Title. - WSL / Kelly Cestari

Postinho has served as the event's main location since 2012, but challenges regarding wave and water quality in recent years have prompted the WSL and event organizers to explore alternative breaks in Brazil. Saquarema's location has hosted Qualifying Series (QS) events in past seasons, and this will be the second time that the Championship Tour will have run there since 2002.

John John Florence after his Round One win. John John Florence, meanwhile, won the 2016 men's event in Rio. He's currently leading the title race. - WSL / Kelly Cestari

"I'm excited to confirm the new location of Saquarema for the 2017 Rio Pro," said Kieren Perrow, WSL Commissioner. "The athletes will benefit from its consistency and potential for excellent waves. Postinho was a great spot, but we rarely got it at its best and the water quality in recent years has been a big challenge. We were committed to keeping the tour in Brazil, and look forward to delivering an outstanding event for fans all over the world.

Gabriel Medina winning in Round 4. Will fans still flood the beach to see Medina? Probably. - WSL / Daniel Smorigo

"We'd also like to thank Mayor Eduardo Paes and Riotur for their years of unconditional support for the World Surf League and the Rio Pro, and to the people of Rio for hosting us in their great city."

The winner of the men's 2016 Oi Rio Pro was John John Florence, while Tyler Wright won the women's competition; Tyler has since been crowned the 2016 World Champion following the completion of the Roxy Pro France. Florence, meanwhile, is the current men's frontrunner on the WSL Jeep Leaderboard.

The complete 2017 WSL Schedule will be released November 15.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.