The swell at Supertubes has faded and the surfers have left the beach, but the music is still going strong. Some of the best sounds from South Africa hit the ASP airwaves during the 2014 J-Bay Open. Now the bands have been reunited with the setlist from stop No. 6 of the Men's World Championship Tour.

Civil Twilight - Fire Escape

With classic rock-song construction and impassioned vocals, this four-man band from Cape Town is often compared to U2 and the Police. Andrew McKeller started the band with drummer and classmate Richard Wouters while they were still teens. McKellar discovered that his brother, Steven, could sing and write songs and the trio hit the local club scene, eventually relocating to Los Angeles, California, and then Nashville, Tennessee. Kevin Dailey, on keys and backup vocals, joined in 2012. Catch more about the band on their website.

Jack Parow - P.A.R.T.Y.

Some of the language in Afrikaans rapper Jack Parow's pop song may sound unfamiliar, but his roots are squarely mainstream. He reportedly knew he wanted to be a hip hop artist from the moment he heard Snoop Dogg's seminal 1993 album Doggystyle. Despite his early influence, Parow's style is all his own; a mix of cultures to sweeten up the beach.

Van Coke Kartel – Môregloed

One of the most popular Afrikaans rock bands in South Africa, Van Coke Kartel has won a nine MK Music Awards and its most recent album Bloed, Sweet & Trane won Best Album at both the 2014 Ghoema Awards and the 2014 SAMA Awards. The band's success has also led to shows alongside Muse, Thirty Seconds to Mars, Korn, Good Charlotte, and Metallica.

aKING – Catch Alight

aKING was started by members of the Afrikaans alt-rock band Fokofpolisiekar, Hunter Kennedy and Jaco "Snakehead" Venter. The pair teamed up with Laudo Liebenberg on vocals and guitar and Hennie Van Halen on bass. They released their first album as aKING in 2008 and have since played with the likes of Oasis, Snow Patrol and Panic at the Disco. In 2010, Andrew Davenport replaced Kennedy on guitar and together the group released their third studio album in 2011.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.