After a 12-year hiatus, the ASP Qualification Series (QS) will be returning to the Southern Atlantic Island known for its beach culture. The ASP 6-Star Oceano Santa Catarina Pro 14 and the women's 5-Star Santa Catarina Pro will be held at Joaquina Beach in Santa Catarina from October 18 - 25. This marks the inaugural event for women's QS competition in Santa Catarina.

Gabriel Medina (BRA) won the 2013 ASP World Pro Junior Championship at Joaquina Beach, site of the 2014 6-Star Oceano Santa Catarina Pro 14. Gabriel Medina won the 2013 World Pro Junior Championship at Joaquina Beach. ASP/Daniel Smorgio - WSL

Joaquina is steeped in a rich history of competitive surfing in Brazil. The ASP World Championship Tour (WCT) returned to Brazil in a legendary event in 1986 that was won by Dave Macaulay (AUS) and included surfing icons such as Shaun Tomson (ZAF) and Mark Occhilupo (AUS). Tom Carroll (AUS) earned victories in 1987 and 1988. Over the years, Joaquina has hosted three WCT events, 11 QS events and the 2013 ASP World Pro Junior Championship, which was won by current World No. 1 Gabriel Medina (BRA).

The last QS event to be run at Joaquina was in 2002, and was won by current WCT competitor, Travis Logie (ZAF). A renowned local surfer, Neco Padaratz (BRA), always passionate and influential, was victorious in QS events in 1995 and 1998. The last Brazilian to win at Praia da Joaquina was Armando Daltro in 2000.

The winner of the 6-Star event will receive 3,500 in ASP QS ranking points and the women's event winner will earn 2,000 ranking points, which will be crucial in deciding who will make the cut and gain access to next year's elite Tour.

Past Event Winners of the ASP QS at Joaquina:
2002: Travis Logie (ZAF)
2001: Mikael Picon (FRA)
2000: Armando Daltro (BRA)
1999: Fabio Gouveia (BRA)
1998: Neco Padaratz (BRA) 1995: Neco Padaratz (BRA)
1994: Shane Dorian (HAW)
1993: Tinguinha Lima (BRA)
1993: Pedro Muller (BRA)
1992: Jojó de Olivença (BRA)
1992: Michael Barry (BRA)

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.