Official Target Maui Pro Teaser
The women's World Championship Tour heads to Hawaii for the final event of the season.

Official Event Site
EVENT WINDOW: November 22 to December 6, 2014
LOCATION: Honolua Bay, Maui, Hawaii
COORDINATES: 21°0′47″N 156°38′18″W
BAGGAGE CLAIM: Kahului Airport, Kahului (OGG)

THE WAVE: Sought-after, to say the least. A righthand pointbreak, Honolua's incoming tide wraps around the cliff at the outermost side of the beach, creating a perfect line that's good for two or three barrels on a single ride.

Honolua Bay The Pacific wraps around the cliff-lined bay to create picture-perfect barrels. - WSL

NOTABLE: Honolua Bay is among the spots that helped give birth to the shortboard revolution. Honolua was the spot of choice in Part 6 of 1967 surf movie, The Hot Generation. The film featured Queensland's Bob McTavish and 1966 World Champion Nat Young getting pitted in Honolua Bay on their then-New Age equipment. The maneuvers they pioneered there would change the sport, forever.

APRES SURF: After a morning surf, Gazebo Restaurant at Napili Shores in Lahaina is the perfect place to grab breakfast. For surfers with more energy to burn, head to the east side of the island for a scenic drive: Haleakala National Park boasts the island's highest peak. The drive is spectacular on its own -- topped only by the view at the summit.

Stephanie Gilmore won the 2009 elite Tour event in Maui. Stephanie Gilmore won the last women's event in 2009. - WSL

ASP HISTORY: Honolua was a regular stop on the women's elite Tour from 1999 to 2009 until it dropped off the schedule. In the 10 years that the competition ran, five winners of the event won World Titles the same year. The problem for 2014 contenders Tyler Wright (AUS) and Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) is that three of those were Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), current World No. 1. All three contenders share one advantage, however: The event has exclusively been won by Australians, except for 2002.

2009: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2008: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2007: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2006: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)
2005: Chelsea Georgeson (AUS)
2004: Chelsea Georgeson (AUS)
2003: Layne Beachley (AUS)
2002: Jaqueline Silva (BRA)
2001: Neridah Falconer (AUS)
2000: Neridah Falconer (AUS)
1999: Trudy Todd (AUS)

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.