In 1976, Fred Hemmings and Randy Rarick founded the International Professional Surfers (IPS). The same year the IPS crowned the first World Champion surfer, Australian Peter Townend. Co-founder Hemmings was on hand to present the title trophy.

Fred Hemmings and Peter Townend, circa 1976. Fred Hemmings presents Peter Townend with 1976 World Title. - WSL

Thirty-nine years later, the IPS is now the World Surf League (WSL) and Hemmings and Townend met up to recreate the famous photo of the first World Title presentation.

Fred Hemmings and Peter Townend, 2015 2015, Hemmings and Townend reenact the historic moment. - WSL

Read what Townend had to say about the photo.

In 2015 the World Surf League will crown the 40th winner of the men's World Title (39th women's). Have your say about who will win with the WSL Fantasy league.

And don't miss the start of the Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour with the 2015 Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast and Roxy Pro Gold Coast February 28. Both events will stream LIVE at

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.