- WSL / Liam Robertson
- WSL / Liam Robertson

The Phillip Island Pro presented by Bass Coast Shire has narrowed the field down to the final four competitors in each division in what was a day of upsets at the Penguin Parade on Phillip Island.

Samantha Sibley Samantha Sibley booking herself a spot in the Semifinals. - WSL / Liam Robertson

All of the Championship Tour (CT) surfers were shockingly knocked out of contention on day two of the event that was held again at the Penguin Parade with a strong swell and winds continuing for the second consecutive day.

Local favorite and CT surfer Nikki van Dijk was eliminated in the challenging surf by internationals Luana Silva and Samantha Sibley along with the elimination of Sage Erickson, Paige Hareb Keely Andrew and Macy Callaghan.

Flying the flag for the Victoria was reigning event champion India Robinson and Cahill Bell-Warren.

"That was such an exciting heat," said Bell-Warren. "Joe is one of my favorite surfers and one of the most talented surfers in Victoria. To just get over the line against him was epic. Having the event at the Penguin Parade definitely played to my strengths growing up on the Surf Coast. I'm looking forward to the finals day!"

Cahill Bell Warren Cahill Bell Warren winding back the clock at Penguin Parade. - WSL / Liam Robertson

Robinson scraped through her Quarterfinal heat scoring a 7.35 (out of a possible 10) in the final 10 seconds of the heat to put her ahead of Gabriela Bryan.

"That was such a stressful heat" said India Robinson. "I heard there were only 20 seconds left and I was just hoping a wave would come with some opportunity. I really love surfing here on Phillip Island. There are some epic waves and its such an awesome place. This was one of the harder QS1500s with so many CT surfers. It's awesome to have them here competing but it's also great to see the underdogs knock them out!"

India Robinson India Robinson. - WSL / Liam Robertson

Joining India Robinson in the Women's Semifinals is Samantha Sibley, Luana Silva and Kirra Pinkerton.

Joining Cahill Bell-Warren in the Semifinals of the Men are Ethan Stocks, Lucas Wrice and Dylan Moffat .

The 2019 Phillip Island Pro men's and women's events will run from November 7 - 10.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.