Watch: Women Shred Espinho on Opening Day
2:08
The Junior Pro Espinho gets underway with epic performances from Europe's best female junior surfers.

What a great opening day at the Junior Pro Espinho! The comp ran through the opening two rounds of women and waves pumped! Check out this combo from 15yo Basque surfer Janire Gonzalez Etxabarri:

Gonzalez was one of two surfers to absolutely dominate the opening round, along with Lucia Machado, last year's runner-up in the European junior title race. These two could easily be considered favorites this week for the title with heat totals of 16.50 and 16.93 in Round 1 and big numbers again in Round 2, stay tuned!

Juliette Lacome was on fire as well in the opening rounds, the number 2 seed in Europe this season is looking to go one better and looking sharp.

Here's a quick look at some of the scenes from the opening day of competition in Espinho:

Check out the full results from the women's opening rounds right here. Competition will be back at 8:30am BST / 3:30am ET / 12:30am PT at Praia da Baia tomorrow Wednesday with the men's opening rounds.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.
Download
Download