- WSL / Kelly Cestari

The Vans Triple Crown, a long-standing highlight of the pro surfing season, is set to kick off November 12, 2014 with the Reef Hawaiian Pro. Taking a look at the trifecta's past champions, it's clear why a spot among them has become highly coveted. Here's a selection of accomplished chargers from Vans' list of former champs.

Pipeline's Surfing Son

2011 & 2013: John John Florence, Hawaii

John John Florence of Oahu, Hawaii (pictured) placed runner up to 11X ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) during the Final of the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons at Pipeline on Saturday December 14, 2013. Florence was in sensational form throughout this year's event, ousting newly crowned 3X ASP World Champion Mick Fanning in the semifinals. In addition to his runner up finish,  Florence's consistent performance throughout this all three events of this year's Vans Triple Crown of Surfing saw him clinch the 2013 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing title. 2013 Triple Crown Champion: John John Florence - WSL / Kirstin Scholtz

John John Florence (HAW), 22, has been raised on the 7 mile miracle of Hawaii's North Shore since birth and was destined to become a Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Champion. In 2005, at the age of 13, he became the youngest surfer to ever compete in the Triple Crown. Just 6 years later, in 2011, he became the youngest surfer to ever win it. A Final against lifelong hero Kelly Slater at the Pipe Masters last year, coupled with a Semifinal finish at Sunset, gave him his second Vans Triple Crown title, which he will be back to defend this winter. No question: John is the man to beat in 2014.

Irons' Mettle

2002, 2003, 2005, 2006: Andy Irons, Hawaii

Andy Irons 2006 Triple Crown Champion: Andy Irons - WSL / © 2008 Sean Rowland

Kauaian Andy Irons was born and raised to dominate the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. AI tops the list of most Triple Crown prize money won cumulatively with $271,725, and has the single season prize money record with $59,000, which he won in 2006. Irons tied with Sunny Garcia for most Triple Crown event wins, seven total (four at Pipe, one at Sunset and two at Haleiwa). Furthermore, Andy and Derek Ho are the only two surfers to win at all three venues of the Triple Crown. In addition, Andy's battles with Slater at the Pipe Masters are epic, legendary duels that give us chicken skin whenever mentioned.

Broken Arm and All

1983 & 1985: Michael Ho, Hawaii

Micheal Ho (HAW) Inaugural Triple Crown Champion: Michael Ho - WSL

When Hawaii's Michael Ho won the newly created Vans Triple Crown title for the first time 26 years ago, he was already famous. Michael has surfed around the globe and is known for his fearless approach to big surf. In fact, he won the Pipe Masters with a broken arm one year. Now a veteran surfer, Ho continues to impress the younger generation with his big wave skills. In 1997, at age 40, Ho again made it into the Pipe Masters Finals, placing second to Johnny Boy Gomes. To this day, whenever Pipeline is going off, Michael Ho is still on it.

For the full list visit vanstriplecrownofsurfing.com.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.