- WSL /

The Queensland State round of the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle kicked off with shifting 1 – 2ft conditions at Southport Spit on the Gold Coast today.

Ten of the State's top boardriders clubs contested the first round of Women's, five-person Teams' and Skins divisions.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is the country's biggest grassroots, boardriders event series with $120,000 in prize money. It will involve more than 100 of Australia's best boardriders clubs in eight State qualifying rounds starting in October and culminate in a two-day, national final for 20 clubs on the Australia Day Long Weekend on 24-25 January, 2015 at Cronulla in Sydney.

Mick Fanning Mick Fanning doing his part for team Kirra. - WSL

Elite Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour competitors Bede Durbidge (Point Lookout Boardriders) and Mick Fanning (Kirra Surfriders) battled for valuable points in the opening round of the Teams format in a bid to strengthen their club's position leading into tomorrow's finals.

Three time ASP World Champion and current world number two Mick Fanning was the first of the big names to hit the water in the opening heat of the day. Fanning opened Kirra Surfriders campaign with a firm 8-point ride. He then went on to post a further 7.50 single wave score as Kirra's nominated power surfer, which was enough to ensure Kirra's place in tomorrow's Team format Semifinals.

Bede Durbidge Bede Durbidge busting out the big scores. - WSL /

Point Lookout's Bede Durbidge wasted no time in the highly anticipated heat against Coolum Boardriders and Snapper Surfriders. Bede posting a 9 point ride in the first three minutes of the hour-long heat, making it the highest single wave score for the event.

“It's rare that I get the chance to compete in a team format so it's a special feeling giving back to the club from where it all started,” said Durbidge.

“The club spirit is a really unique feeling. There are a lot more variables in team formats which makes events like this so exciting and it will be interesting to see some of the strategies that each club brings to the table,” Durbidge continued.

Durbidge and Fanning will again represent their respective clubs tomorrow on the final day of competition.

Bede Durbidge Bede Durbidge running up the beach in the Tag Team division. - WSL

The series is officially sanctioned by the ASP, which allows Australian ASP WCT surfers (men and women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

Each club team will include one junior (Under 18) surfer, four Open age surfers, and one over 35 surfer. Each team must include one female surfer.

An exciting event format will see club teams battle it out in a Women's division, five-person Teams' division and a Skins competition. The National Final will include a lucrative, winner-take-all Skins format across 12 heats with a $1000 jackpot in each heat.

For more information on the series, visit www.australianboardridersbattle.com

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Schedule:

EVENT 1 Scamander, TAS - October 4, 2014

EVENT 2 Fleurieu Peninsula, SA - October 25, 2014

EVENT 3 Gold Coast, QLD - November 1 - 2, 2014

EVENT 4 NSW Central - North Narrabeen, NSW - November 8, 2014

EVENT 5 NSW Nth - Yamba, NSW - November 15, 2014

EVENT 6 Yallingup, WA - November 22, 2014

EVENT 7 Phillip Island, VIC - December 13, 2014

EVENT 8 NSW Sth - Kiama, NSW - January 10, 2015

NATIONAL FINAL Cronulla, NSW - January 24 - 25, 2015

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by naming rights partner Original Source and major support partners Toyota, Nikon, Oakley, Boost Mobile, the Association of Surfing Professionals, Sutherland Shire Council, Milwaukee, FCS, Surfing Life, Fuel TV and Destination NSW.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.