- WSL / Laurent Masurel
- WSL / Laurent Masurel

Tom Carroll (AUS) has won the four-way Heritage Series heat over Derek Ho (HAW), Sunny Garcia (HAW) and Gary Elkerton (AUS).

The ocean had gone deceptively quiet after a full day of competition that included the Final of the Men's Pipe Invitational, Round 1 of the Billabong Pipe Masters and the Women's Pipe Invitational. But all that changed when the legends of Pipe took to the water.

Carroll Scores Big at Pipe
The two-time World Champ scores a near-perfect ride, 30 years later.

Garcia, who competed in the first two events of this year's Vans Triple Crown, was the first to get his feet in the wax with a casual glide-in. With a brief lull, Pipe looked spent until Carroll dropped into a deep barrel, emerging with the spit for a 9.60. The 53-year-old, who won the Pipe Masters in 1987, 1990 and 1991, was out to prove that he still had it -- and then some.

Garcia and Ho managed to keep pace with sweet barrel rides of their own but Carroll's early heroics were too much to overcome.

"It's kind of like an old friend, it's pretty nice to be out there again," Carroll said. "Being out there with just three other guys, three guys you've surfed with for a long, long time, it's just a great feeling."

The Pipe Heritage Series is the third and final heat of the series for 2014. It comes after the Occy-Curren faceoff at J-Bay and the Pottz-Gerr heat at Lower Trestles.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.