Margaret River Pro Event Site
Margaret River Pro Event Site

EVENT WINDOW: April 11-22, 2018
COORDINATES: 33.9550° S, 115.0750° E
BAGGAGE CLAIM: Perth International Airport (PER)

Reigning World Champion John John Florence of Hawaii (pictured), has taking top place on the Jeep Leader Rankings after winning the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro.  Florence defeated Kolohe Andino (USA) in the the final in 6 - 8+ foot (2 - 2.5+ metre) cond John John Florence beat Kolohe Andino in the Final last year with a 19.03 heat total. - WSL / Matt Dunbar

THE WAVE: Several site options exist for the Margaret River Pro. Main Break is a lefthand and righthand reefbreak that can produce excellent waves anywhere from 2-to-20 feet. The left tends to be the dominant wave and, in some some conditions, produces a hefty barrel. Depending on the size of the wave and strength of your legs, the wave has a big, open face and heavy lip to belt. Just watch out for the Surgeon's Table: The shallow ledge occasionally contorts the final section of the wave, catching the unaware by surprise. After Main Break hits 12-to-15 feet, all bets are off.

THE BIG BACKUP: The secondary location for the event at Margies is The Box, a break that got its name because it sucks water up so quickly it goes square when it breaks. Best in west swells from about five-to-eight feet, east winds and mid-to-high tides, The Box favors regularfooters. There is no left option here.

2017 Margies Moments: Seabass Makes History With Perfect 10
Sebastian Zietz shocked fans and WSL commentators when he emerged from this one.

APRES SURF: In addition to the world-class surf, the Margaret River region also boasts one of the foremost vineyard populations on the planet. Enjoy a few glasses and watch the sunset on the Australian continent. Downtown Margaret River is home to a number of excellent pubs and eateries. Pro favorite: Have a truly unique experience by hitting up El Rio, a Mexican restaurant with a Californian chef based in the heart of Western Australia.

CHAMPIONSHIP TOUR HISTORY: Margaret River has been a staple for the world's best surfers since 1985, beginning its history on the men's Championship Tour (CT) as the Swan Margaret River Thriller. The women's elite Tour joined for the first combined event at Margarets in 1989. While Margaret River has been on the calendar in various capacities -- from 3-Star QS events (now called QS 3,000s) to CT level competition -- it has seen no shortage of World Champions compete on its grounds. Mark "Occy" Occhilupo (AUS) took out the inaugural event and won again in 2003. Tom Carroll (AUS) won back-to-back in 1986 and 1987.

Sally Fitzgibbons of Australia is chaired to the podium as the WINNER of the 2017 Drug Aware Margaret River Pro after defeating current Women's World Champion Tyler Wright (AUS) in the final at 3-5ft Main Break, Western Australia. Sally Fitzgibbons being chaired to the podium in 2017. - WSL / Kelly Cestari

NOTABLE: While Michel Bourez (2014), Adriano de Souza (2015), Sebastian Zietz (2016) and John John Florence (2017) are the only current CT surfers who have claimed elite Tour titles at Margarets, a lot of the guys on Tour have fared well here in the past. Mick Fanning, Josh Kerr, Joel Parkinson and John John Florence all took wins at the event when it held a Prime rating (QS 10,000). Taj Burrow (AUS) won in 1997 when it was a 4-Star.

For the ladies, there was only been victors in eight years, with repeats being common place. Wendy Botha (AUS) dominated early contests at Margaret River, Pam Burridge dominated the mid-nineties and reigning World Champ Carissa Moore went back-to-back in 2013 and 2014. Courtney Conlogue won the event in 2015, Tyler Wright in 2016, and Sally Fitzgibbons in 2017.

A League of His Own: John John Florence at Main Break
The reigning World Champion delivered a jaw-dropping exhibition on Saturday.

2017: John John Florence (HAW)
2016: Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
2015: Adriano de Souza (BRA)
2014: Michel Bourez (PYF)
1990: Barton Lynch (AUS)
1989: Dave Macaulay (AUS)
1987: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1986: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1985: Mark Occhilupo (AUS)

2017: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
2016: Tyler Wright (AUS)
2015: Courtney Conlogue (USA)
2014: Carissa Moore (HAW)
2013: Carissa Moore (HAW)
1996: Pam Burridge (AUS)
1993: Pam Burridge (AUS)
1992: Jodie Cooper (AUS)
1990: Wendy Botha (AUS)
1989: Wendy Botha (AUS)

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.