A total of 96 surfers representing 19 different countries will contest the 2015 Quiksilver Pro Saquarema presented by Powerade from May 5-10 at the powerful waves at Praia de Itauna in the State of Rio de Janeiro. The event marks the second World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) event worth 10,000 rankings points event and has been circled on the calendar by every surfer wanting to guarantee a spot on the 2016 Men's Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour (CT).

Adding to the excitement is the fact that the Quiksilver Pro Saquarema will be run right before the fourth CT event of the year, the Oi Rio Pro (May 11-22) at Barra da Tijuca, and will be an alluring draw for some of the world's top athletes.

Quik Pro Saquarema: Official Trailer
Get ready for the second QS10000 event of the season and the kickoff to a big month in Brazil.

"The surfing community always anxiously awaits confirmation of this event in Saquarema" stated Roberto Perdigao, Regional Director for the WSL South America. "This event has built a solid reputation among the surfers as having some of the best waves on the tour. The contest has repeatedly increased in size and quality with each season, and this year it's scheduled for May 5, the week prior to the CT event in Rio de Janeiro. Due to this change, lots of the stars on the CT have made plans to arrive earlier in Brazil to compete on the waves at Praia de Itauna, which is considered as one of the most important stages for surfing in the country."

The Quiksilver Pro Saquarema will be the first international competition held on Brazilian soil following Gabriel Medina's (BRA) historic World Title victory. The limit for the 96 participating athletes was quickly maxed-out and over 30 surfers remain on the list of alternates waiting for an opportunity to enter the event as a substitute.

2014 Quiksilver Saquarema Prime. Wiggolly Dantas, defending champ of the Quik Pro Saquarema, competing in the 2014 event. - WSL

With a total of 24 surfers, the Australian delegation has the largest number of participants, followed closely behind by the host country (23). Representatives from both countries have won this event over the last six years. Defending event champ Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) began his road to qualifying for the CT after winning Saquarema last year.

In addition to Dantas, past winners at the Quiksilver Pro Saquarema include Mitch Coleborn (AUS) in 2013, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) in 2012, Kai Otton (AUS) in 2011, Willian Cardoso (BRA) in 2010 and Neco Padaratz (BRA) in 2009.

Other CT surfers scheduled to compete at the Quiksilver Pro Saquarema are Jadson Andre (BRA), Italo Ferreira (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Brett Simpson (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Freddy Patacchia Jr. (HAW), Keanu Asing (HAW), Dusty Payne (HAW), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Glenn Hall (IRL) and Ricardo Christie (NZL).

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.