Next Call Sunday at 7:00 am

Wave conditions at Padang Padang Friday morning remained inconsistent and well below the size and quality standards required to hold the Rip Curl Cup. The next call will be made on Sunday morning at 7:00 am.

Rio Waida Indonesian young gun Rio Waida is this year's local wildcard. - WSL

Sixteen of the best barrel riders in the world have gathered at Padang Padang and are prepared to battle it out in some of the heaviest tubes to hit Bali this surf season.

When competition gets underway, here's what the opening rounds have in store.

Round One (non-elimination)

Heat 1: Raditya Rondi (IND), Paulo Moura (BRA), Pepen Hendrik (IND), Ryan Burch (USA)

Heat 2: Mega Semadhi (IND), Bruno Santos (BRA), Made Adi Putra (IND), Bruce Irons (HAW)

Heat 3: Lee Wilson (IND), Clay Marzo (HAW), Garut Widiarta (IND), Jack Robinson (AUS)

Heat 4: Rizal Tandjung (IND), Kai Otton (AUS), Rio Waida (IND), Louie Hynd (AUS)

Round Two

Heat 1: Mega Semadhi (IND), Paulo Moura (BRA), Rio Waida (IND), Jack Robinson (AUS)

Heat 2: Raditya Rondi (IND), Louie Hynd (AUS), Garut Widiarta (IND), Ryan Burch (USA)

Heat 3: Lee Wilson (IND), Bruno Santos (BRA), Pepen Hendrik (IND), Kai Otton (AUS)

Heat 4: Rizal Tandjung (IND), Clay Marzo (HAW), Made Adi Putra (IND), Bruce Irons (HAW)

The 2017 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang will be broadcast LIVE on and

Garut Widiarta Garut Widiarta showing as much style on the face as he does in the tube. - WSL

Event History

Now in its 14th year, the Rip Curl Cup at Padang Padang is Indonesia's longest-running surfing competition and the first World Surf League invitational contest to feature top international surfers alongside Indonesia's best.

The Rip Curl Cup Invitational has seen some of the finest tube masters of the modern era compete in the spitting barrels of Padang Padang. International icons such as Jamie O'Brien, Bruce Irons, Chris Ward and Mason Ho have all put on historic performances over the years. Meanwhile, Indonesia's top surfers like Rizal Tandjung, Garut Widiarta, Lee Wilson and defending champion Mega Semadhi have consistently proven they can compete with the best in the world at the Balinese Pipeline.

The list of past Rip Curl Cup champions includes: Bol Adi Putra (2004, 2005), Lee Wilson (2006, 2011), Jamie O'Brien (2009), Chris Ward (2012), Garut Widiarta (2014) and Mega Semadhi (2013, 2016).

An Indonesian surfer has been crowned champion the past three times the Rip Curl Cup has been held. Since top foreign surfers were invited to compete in 2007, the Indonesian surfers currently hold a 4-3 edge over the internationals for total Rip Curl Cup titles.

Tune in today to witness what new surfing history will be made at the Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang in 2017.

Watch the official 2017 event trailer here:

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.