After an women's-only opening day in Espinho, the men launched their campaign with 16 heats of Round 1 at the Junior Pro Espinho and a whole lot of insane action from Europe's best U-18 surfers!

It didn't take long for things to get crazy, as a matter of fact, the very first heat of the day witnessed Kauli Vaast's absolute dominant form post an insane 17.60 in perfect rights.

France's Sam Piter followed suit with an excellent 8 point ride of his own, then Dean Vandewalle upped the ante with a near-perfect 9.60 in Heat 4!

The following heats all had brilliant performances from the likes of Tim Elter, Guilherme Ribeiro, Noa Dupouy..

Then came the No. 1 Portuguese junior Afonso Antunes with a sick heat of his own and two high 8s for a 16.87 total!

The day was filled with incredible action as Praia da Baia continued to pump perfect right after perfect right, check out this bird's eye view of the scene on Day 2:

Full results from today's men's opening round can be accessed here. The next call will be at 8:30am BST / 3:30am ET / 12:30am PT at Praia da Baia tomorrow Thursday for potentially more men's action as the women's event is already down to the Quarters.

Make sure you check out all the content from Espinho on our Facebook, Instagram and Twitter accounts!

While we wait for the official highlight reel of Day 2, here are more behind-the-scenes shots from the day:

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.
Download
Download