Defending champion Snapper Rocks Surfriders lead a strong lineup of Australian boardriders clubs including North Narrabeen Boardriders, Kirra Surfriders, Merewether Surfboard Club, Le-Ba Boardriders and Yallingup Boardriders.

The clubs are stacked with the country's finest surfing talent including World Surf League (WSL) stars and World Champions Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) and Laura Enever (North Narrabeen), Adam Melling (Le-Ba), Bede Durbidge (Point Lookout), Adrian Buchan and Matt Wilkinson (both from Avoca Boardriders).

Gilmore ABB Reigning World Champion Stephanie Gilmore along with her team at Snapper Rocks Surfriders will be defending their club's title. - WSL

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is the country's biggest grassroots boardriders event series with $120,000 in prize money. Now sanctioned by the WSL, it involves more than 100 of Australia's best boardriders clubs in eight State qualifying rounds. Competition started in October in Scamander, Tasmania and will culminate in a two-day, national Final during the Australia Day long weekend on January 24-25, 2015 at Cronulla in Sydney.

Each club team includes six members: one junior (under 18) surfer, four open-age surfers, and one over-35 surfer. At least one team member has to be female. The series, now down to just 20 clubs, is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League, which allows Australian CT surfers the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

In total $120,000 is up for grabs across the entire series: $33,000 was made available to the eight State qualifying events, while $87,000 will be on offer at the National Final. The winning boardriders club will receive $20,000, and $42,000 will be split between the clubs finishing second to 20th.

The preliminary events have narrowed the list of competing clubs to the following:
New South Wales: North Narrabeen Boardriders, Merewether Surfboard Club, Le-Ba Boardriders, Byron Bay Boardriders, Culburra Boardriders, Bondi Boardriders, Cronulla Sharks Boardriders, Avoca Boardriders, Coffs Harbour Boardriders
Queensland: Snapper Rocks Surfriders, Burleigh Heads Boardriders, Coolum Boardriders, Kirra Surfriders, Point Lookout Boardriders
Victoria: Peninsula Surfriders, Phillip Island Boardriders
Western Australia: Margaret River Boardriders, Yallingup Boardriders
Southern Australia: South Coast Boardriders
Tasmania: South Arm Boardriders

The Australian Boardriders Battle will be telecast live on Fox Sports 2 January 24 and Fox Sports 5 January 25. The contest will also stream LIVE on www.australianboardridersbattle.com and www.mysurf.tv.

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.