- WSL / Susu Nasser

The 2017 Huanchaco Repalsa Longboard Pro Peru presented by Motorola will be finishing off a series of three WSL South America events in July. After running consecutive Qualifying Series contests in San Bartolo (Peru) and Arica (Chile), top longboarders will be arriving at one of the world's most inviting canvases at Playa El Elio, in Trujillo, northern Peru from July 27 - 29.

Piccolo Clemente at the Huanchaco Repalsa Longboard Pro presented by Claro and Samsung. Piccolo Clemente - WSL / Susu Nasser

The talent level in the men's and women's divisions at the event will also be world-class, including two-time World Champions Piccolo Clemente (PER) and Phil Rajzman (BRA), as well as current WSL Longboard Tour Rankings leader Chloe Calmon (BRA). They will all be competing to determine who will become the 2017 WSL South America Longboard Champion.

Each season, WSL Regional Champions are automatically qualified into the World Longboard Tour Championship, which will be held in Taiwan in late November this year. On the current LT standings, Clemente sits in 5th place, while Phil Rajzman is tied for 9th alongside fellow Brazilian Rodrigo Sphaier.

Rodrigo Sphaier - Huanchaco, Peru Rodrigo Sphaier - WSL / Susu Nasser

Clemente, Rajzman and Sphaier have always been in the mix for supremacy at the long lefthanders at El Elio. Clemente holds a stunning record while competing at home on the long waves in Peru. He has won three times (2011, 2014, 2015) by reaching the Finals in five out of six events.

Sphaier holds two South American Longboard Championship Titles after defeating Clemente in 2010 and Rajzman in 2013. Rajzman on the other hand, has never won the continental title, but arrives in Peru as the defending WSL LT World Champion after his victory in China last year.

In the women's division, Atalanta Batista (BRA) has gone undefeated at Huanchaco in Peru and holds two WSL South America Championship titles herself (2014, 2015). However, hot on her tails are Chloe Calmon (BRA) and Maria Fernanda Reyes (PER).

Maria Fernanda Reyes - Huanchaco, Peru Maria Fernanda Reyes - WSL / Susu Nasser

Reyes is seen as the hometown favorite for the title, while Calmon is coming in hot after taking a commanding lead on the 2017 WSL Longboard Tour by winning the event in Papua New Guinea. In addition, just this past month Calmon also won an LQS event in Gaia, Portugal. Now for the first time, Chloe will be competing in Huanchaco.

"I had to make some adjustments to my schedule, so I opted to come to Peru for the contest instead of the one at Fistral Beach (England)," said Calmon during an interview with the website Waves. "I know the wave at Huanchaco pretty well and I hope we get some good swell to highlight the talent level of the event. And hopefully, if things go according to plan, I can extend my trip a little longer and head over to Chicama afterwards. It's really close by and it would be a great opportunity to surf those long, magical lefts in Peru."

Atalanta Batista winning the 2014 Huanchaco Repalsa Longboard Pro. Atalanta Batista - WSL

Coming from all corners of the globe, the Huanchaco Repalsa Longboard Pro Peru is one of the world's longest running longboard events and has always been a huge attraction to the world's best athletes. After initially being scheduled for April, devastating rainfall, landslides and flooding in northern Peru led to a state of emergency before the event was transferred to July.

The Huanchaco Repalsa Longboard Pro presented by Motorola and organized by Club Deportivo Olas Norte has the support from Caja Trujillo and Corona. The hunt for the WSL South America Title will broadcast live via www.wslsouthamerica.com beginning Thursday.

Phil Rajzman at the 2014 Huanchaco Repalsa Longboard Pro. Phil Rajzman - WSL

HUANCHACO LONGBOARD PRO EVENT WINNERS: 2015: Atalanta Batista (BRA) and Piccolo Clemente (PER) 2014: Atalanta Batista (BRA) and Piccolo Clemente (PER) 2013: Rodrigo Sphaier (BRA) 2012: Jeferson da Silva (BRA) 2011: Piccolo Clemente (PER) 2010: Rodrigo Sphaier (BRA)

WSL SOUTH AMERICA LONGBOARD CHAMPIONS: 2015 - Piccolo Clemente (PER) e Atalanta Batista (BRA) 2014 - Piccolo Clemente (PER) e Atalanta Batista (BRA) 2013 - Rodrigo Sphaier (BRA) 2012 - Jeferson da Silva (BRA) 2011 - Piccolo Clemente (PER) 2010 - Rodrigo Sphaier (BRA) 2009 - André Luiz Deca (BRA)

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.