- WSL / Justin Majeks
- WSL / Justin Majeks

Liam O'Brien and Alyssa Lock have conquered big swells and testing conditions to claim victory at the inaugural Cape Naturaliste Pro, a WSL Qualifying Series (QS) 1000 event for Men and Women.

Alyssa Lock Alyssa Lock chaired to vicotry for her maiden QS victory. - WSL / Justin Majeks

With massive surf and strong onshore winds battering the Yallingup coastline, the Cape Naturaliste Pro went mobile in search of the best waves on offer in the region. An exciting finals day played out at The Farm in Bunker Bay with surfers ripping into clean and highly contestable 2-3 feet peaks. Big scores and massive aerial manoeuvres highlighted the conclusion of the Western Australian Pro Surf Series.

Alyssa Lock captured her maiden WSL QS win at the Cape Naturaliste Pro, while the win in Yallingup for Liam O'Brien marks his third QS1,000 triumph for 2018. Lock defeated Mia McCarthy in the 30-minute Women's final and used her clinical backhand turns to score a heat high 6.25 (from a possible 10) and finished on a two-wave total of 11.75 (from a possible 20).

"That was my first ever QS final and I'm so stoked to have taken it out," said Lock. "The forecast wasn't looking that flash so I was surprised to turn up here in Bunker Bay and see some great waves. I'm really happy with how I performed and want to keep building me seeding into 2019."

Alyssa Lock Alyssa Lock was on a tear on Finals Day. - WSL / Justin Majeks

Mia McCarthy finished as the highest placed West Australian surfer in the event, posting a career best result in the process. McCarthy defeated Claire Bevilacqua in the semis and was thrilled to reach a QS final on home soil in WA.

"I'm really stoked, it was such a fun event and its great to have swell for a QS," said McCarthy. "I'm happy to have made it to the final and congratulate Alyssa on the win."

Mia McCarthy Mia McCarthy flew the WA flag on Finals Day. - WSL / Justin Majeks

O'Brien confirmed he's one of Australia's rising surf stars, notching up another QS1,000 victory and moving up the QS ratings 16 positions to be sitting in the top 100 for the first time in his career. The Burleigh Heads native used his smooth flowing style and devastating forehand attack to post a combined total of 14.00 that included a heat high 7.75.

"It's been awesome to come over here to the West and compete in the two events," said O'Brien. "I surfed here in Yallingup as a grom for a Taj's Small Fries, then I came for the Aussie Junior Titles and as soon as I heard that there was going to be a WSL event here I was straight on it. Yallingup is amazing and I'm stoked to be the first ever winner of this great event."

Liam O'Brien Liam O'Brien is making a habit of winning in 2018. - WSL / Justin Majeks

O'Brien defeated Sheldon Simkus, one of the form surfers of the event. Simkus took down Jacob Willcox and last week's Mandurah Pro champion Morgan Cibilic and looked like the surfer who was in best touch with the rhythm of the ocean. Despite some great surfing Simkus was left chasing a 7.01 or better to snare the win off O'Brien when the final siren sounded.

"I love West Oz, I've been here a bunch of times and Yallingup has some amazing waves and it's a great location for this event," said Simkus. "I had a good feeling this whole event but I made a couple of mistakes in that final, I'm always learning and getting closer to my first win."

Sheldon Simkus Sheldon Simkus puntin into the Final. - WSL / Justin Majeks

Morgan Cibilic and Alyssa Lock leave WA as the best performing surfers at the first ever Western Australian Pro Surf Series. Both surfers posted a semi final finish and captured an event win between Mandurah and Yallingup respectively.

Ciblic moved up a massive 38 positions after the WA Pro Surf Series to be sitting within the top 100 of the Men's WSL QS ratings, while Lock moved up 22 positions to be sitting in 64th place on the Women's WSL QS ratings.

"Despite some wet and windy weather, Yallingup has again confirmed it's status as one of WA's best surfing destinations," said Surfing WA events manager Justin Majeks. "I'd like to congratulate our champions and look forward to doing this bigger and better again in 2019."

Morgan Cibilic Morgan Cibilic wins the overall WA Pro Surf Series. - WSL / Justin Majeks
World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.