- WSL / Justin Jay
- WSL / Justin Jay

Since the inaugural event in 1985, surfers from Hawaii have dominated the Hawaiian Pro, the first stop of the prestigious Vans Triple Crown of Surfing taking place at Haleiwa.

Haleiwa is an excellent, but temperamental righthander that is positioned well to absorb the West and Northwest swells generated in the Pacific during the winter season. Below eight feet, it's a hollow, high-performance wave. At 10-15 feet, it's a thicker version of itself with a higher-consequence closeout finish.

As the waves get bigger, a strong current develops from the east, providing an additional positioning challenge for surfers in the lineup.

day 2 of the Hawaiian Pro The lineup at Haleiwa on a breezy offshore day. - WSL / Tony Heff

Local knowledge of these differentiating factors has prevailed over the years, as Hawaiian competitors have the most event wins (with 15). Australia occupies the two spot (12 wins), followed by the USA (2), Tahiti (2) and Brazil (1).

Hawaiian Sunny Garcia holds the record for most wins by a single surfer, clinching the event four times ('93, '00, '02, '04).

Hometown advantage aside, the Australians are not far behind with wins under their belt by legendary names like Taj, Parko, Barton and Mark Richards.

2017, however, saw Brazilian Filipe Toledo land his first win at Haleiwa, also Brazil's first national win, an indicator of his country's growing dominance in global competitive surfing.

2017 Hawaiian Pro: Final
2017 Hawaiian Pro Final: Wiggolly Dantas vs. Griffin Colapinto vs. Filipe Toledo vs. Michel Bourez

The reef at Haleiwa has a rich history in competition, beginning with the 1964 Dick Brewer Championship, the North Shore's first surfing event. A litany of surf contests have been held at Haleiwa in each subsequent decade, including World Cup events during the ‘70s and ‘80s with some notable wins by Mark Richards, Shaun Tomson and Margo Oberg.

Although the new generation of competitors have traded transition-era single fins for high performance thrusters, the same spirit on the North Shore still burns as bright.

With his historic win behind him - and coming into the Vans Triple Crown with his eyes on a world title - Toledo is currently listed in the Heat Draw as a return contestant with hopes of defending his Hawaiian Pro title.

Other notable Brazilians listed include Italo Ferreira, Yago Dora and Caio Ibelli. Ibello is returning to the tour after an injury plagued season. With this much talent potentially in play, this could be the start of Brazilian domination at Haleiwa.

John John Florence wins quarterfinal 2 of the WSL Hawaiian Pro John John Florence followed a long line of Hawaiian competitors by clinching a win at the 2016 Hawaiian Pro. - WSL / tony heff

Hawaiian Pro Champions:

2017 Filipe Toledo | BRA
2016 John John Florence | HAW
2015 Wade Carmichael | AUS
2014 Dusty Payne | HAW
2013 Michel Bourez | PYF
2012 Sebastian Zietz | HAW
2011 Taj Burrow | AUS
2010 Joel Parkinson | AUS
2009 Joel Centeio | HAW
2008 Michel Bourez | PYF
2007 Roy Powers | HAW
2006 Andy Irons | HAW
2005 Pancho Sullivan | HAW
2004 Sunny Garcia | HAW
2003 Troy Brooks | AUS
2002 Sunny Garcia | HAW
2001 Andy Irons | HAW
2000 Sunny Garcia | HAW
1999 Conan Hayes | HAW
1998 Kaipo Jaquias | HAW
1997 Tony Ray | AUS
1996 Kaipo Jaquias | HAW
1995 Richard Lovett | AUS
1994 Chris Brown | USA
1993 Sunny Garcia | HAW
1991 Tom Curren | USA
1990 Nicky Wood | AUS
1989 Cheyne Horan | AUS
1988 Barton Lynch | AUS
1987 Gary Elkerton | AUS
1986 Mark Richards | AUS
1985 Mark Richards | AUS

World Surf League
Download it for free on the App store. Download it for free on Google Play.